On making space for the gods: a theology

There are some excellent thoughts in this piece. I’m not quite sure I will ever agree with the “For me, every action I make is an offering, and I always do as They ask me to do. ” statement, but I’m relatively new to the devotional aspect, so perhaps that level of trust will come. Which isn’t meant as any kind of slight towards the author at all.

Towards Polytheist Theoilogies

When I discovered there was such a thing as devotional polytheism, one thing stuck out at me like a sore thumb: hospitality.

Perhaps it stuck out at me because, being a first-generation Cuban-American, I was raised in a household where hospitality was simply blood in one’s veins. It is part of our cultural language to be fluent in a certain protocol of accepting visitors, from close friends to strangers coming in from the streets. In the mindset of the culture I was raised in, and in the foundation of my family, homes would be not only homes for us, but homes for others. One did not keep a house tidy just for one’s personal or family order – it was imperative to keep the house tidy and clean in preparation – nay, anticipation – to accept visitors at all times (as usually people knocked instead of notifying ahead of time and asking for…

View original post 1,553 more words

Leave a Reply

